Dutch EU Presidency



From 1 January to 30 June 2016, the Netherlands holds the six-month rotating Presidency of the European Union. The Netherlands is the firts of the Trio and in close coordination with the EU Presidency of Slovakia (July-December 2016) and Malta (January-June 2017). The Netherlands holds the Presidency for the 12th time. The Dutch want a Europe that focuses on the essentials (a clear task division between the member states and the EU institutions), an innovative union focused at growth and jobs and a better connection between the institutions in Brussels and the 500 million citizens. One of the objectives of the Dutch EU Presidency is to adopt a declaration "Pact of Amsterdam" establishing the Urban Agenda for the EU, its priorities and working methods.



One year after the Pact of Amsterdam was adopter, the EUKN was commissioned by the Dutch Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations to carry out a report which investigates the progress made with regard to the implementation of the Urban Agenda for the EU Thematic Partnerships’ actions, their impacts and spin-off effects. The report first analyses the state of development of Partnerships and focuses on the implementation of the actions that fall mainly under the responsibility of EU institutions and organisations. The report highlights the impact of the Urban Agenda for the EU on multilevel cooperation in the field of urban matters and on post-2020 EU policies. Read more.