Slovak EU Presidency



From 1 July to 31 December 2016, twelve years after its accession to the EU, Slovakia holds the six-month rotating Presidency of the European Union. Slovakia is in close coordination with the EU Presidency of the Netherlands (January-June 2016) and Malta (January-June 2017). Slovakia has set up four main priorities for their EU presidency term: Economically strong Europe; Modern single market-focusing on the implementation of the Energy Union; Sustainable migration and asylum policies; and Globally engaged Europe. The four priorities are driven by three interconnected principles: Achieving tangible results, overcoming fragmentation and focusing on the citizen. With the last principle, the Slovak Presidency aims to restore citizens' confidence in the common European project. Moreover, Slovakia is getting ready to take over the issues left by the Dutch, as Presidencies inherit about 80% of their agenda from their predecessors.