Finland's EU Presidency



From 1 July to 31 December 2019, Finland holds the six-month rotating Presidency of the European Union. Finland is in close coordination with the Trio EU Presidencies of Romania (January-Jun 2019) and Croatia (January-June 2020). The General Affairs Council adopted the Trio Programme in December 2018. The priorities for Finland’s Presidency are to strengthen common values and the rule of law, to make the EU more competitive and socially inclusive, to strengthen the EU’s position as a global leader in climate action and to protect the security of citizens comprehensively.