EU Presidencies

Intergovernmental cooperation on territorial and urban integrated development takes also place under the umbrella of European Presidencies. The following Presidencies were in particular focused on integrated development:

German EU Presidency: Leipzig Charter on Sustainable European Cities (2007)

  • Promotion of an integrated approach
  • Providing special attention to deprived neighbourhoods

French EU Presidency: Marseille Statement (2008)

  • Focusing on climate change
  • Development of initiative “Reference Framework for Sustainable European Cities (RFSC)”

Spanish EU Presidency: Toledo Declaration (2010)

  • Alignment with Europe 2020 strategy
  • Focusing on integrated urban regeneration

Hungarian EU Presidency: Territorial agenda of the European Union 2020 (2011) 

Polish EU Presidency: Effective instruments supporting territorial development (2011)