National policies and programmes in the field of integrated and sustainable urban development

The Czech Republic attaches value to an integrated urban and territorial approach which is based on the specific Czech settlement structure. A national framework of the regional dimension - the Regional Development Strategy for 2014 – 2020 - has been approved in May 2013. Based on the update Regional Development Strategy, a territorial typology of the Czech Republic has been defined:

1. Developing areas 

  • Metropolitan areas (areas with concentration above 300,000 inhabitants)
  • Agglomerations (concentration 100,000 – 300,000)
  • Regional centres (incl. surroundings; concentration 25,000 – 100,000) 

2. Stabilized areas – not belonging to agglomerations and regional centres (and their surroundings) and peripheral areas

3. Peripheral areas – geographically remote areas with a long-term accumulation of problems (borders areas, mountain areas, inner peripheries or areas with specific issues). 

Each type of territory is associated with the integrated instruments. Besides the two new tools introduce by European Commission, the Czech Republic proposes Integrated Territorial Development Plans as an extension of Integrated Urban Development Plans applied in current programming period. These new plans encompass not only the city itself but also the city hinterland and catchment (functional) region and will be implemented within the areas with more than 25,000 inhabitants (excluding the metropolitan areas focused on the ITI primarily). 

The Regional Development Strategy 2014-2020 will be translated into English by the end of this year and published on the EUKN website.